bootcensus
5 months agogeneralized pixel format handling in 3d pipeline master
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 4 Sep 2019 10:53:43 +0000 (13:53 +0300)]
generalized pixel format handling in 3d pipeline

5 months agofoo
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 3 Sep 2019 19:55:23 +0000 (22:55 +0300)]
foo

5 months agoinstmbr script from 256boss
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 3 Sep 2019 11:07:34 +0000 (14:07 +0300)]
instmbr script from 256boss

5 months agoswitched to the 256boss-style disk image creation
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 3 Sep 2019 11:07:09 +0000 (14:07 +0300)]
switched to the 256boss-style disk image creation

5 months agocensus logo
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 3 Sep 2019 10:20:10 +0000 (13:20 +0300)]
census logo

5 months agomoved over the polyfiller code and implemented blending
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 3 Sep 2019 03:19:29 +0000 (06:19 +0300)]
moved over the polyfiller code and implemented blending

5 months agoadded logo eval, data, and cgmath
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 13:38:14 +0000 (16:38 +0300)]
added logo eval, data, and cgmath

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 13:29:57 +0000 (16:29 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot

5 months agobackported more fixes from 256boss
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 13:28:08 +0000 (16:28 +0300)]
backported more fixes from 256boss

5 months agoremoved more lfs files
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 11:58:34 +0000 (14:58 +0300)]
removed more lfs files

5 months agofoo
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 02:55:44 +0000 (05:55 +0300)]
foo

5 months agobackported fixes from 256boss
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 00:24:29 +0000 (03:24 +0300)]
backported fixes from 256boss

9 months ago- moved the int86 code out of the 2nd stage boot loader code, and into a
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 29 May 2019 18:53:48 +0000 (21:53 +0300)]
- moved the int86 code out of the 2nd stage boot loader code, and into a
  new lowcode.s file with its own section (.lowtext) which is placed in
  low memory alongside the boot loader by the linker (backported from
  256boss).

9 months agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 28 May 2019 16:49:33 +0000 (19:49 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot

9 months agobackported malloc fixes from 256boss, plus the addition of calloc and
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 28 May 2019 16:49:06 +0000 (19:49 +0300)]
backported malloc fixes from 256boss, plus the addition of calloc and
realloc

9 months agobackported fixes from 256boss:
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 25 May 2019 20:36:30 +0000 (23:36 +0300)]
backported fixes from 256boss:
 - moved early serial console from 1st to 2nd stage loader, to leave
   space for the partition table if needed.
 - saving boot_drive_number for later use.
 - fixed floppy motor turnoff after 2nd stage loader is done.
 - saving of carry flag before returning from int86.
 - added functions in intr.h/intr.c to manipulate the PIC IRQ masks.
 - restoring irq masks after returning from int86.
 - keyboard controller voodoo: do a single read after returning from
   int86 to clear any pending inputs that would otherwise clog the
   buffer and we'd never get an interrupt again from the keyboard.

9 months agofixed bug in boot2.s: when booting from floppy, the motor would keep
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 2 May 2019 00:57:51 +0000 (03:57 +0300)]
fixed bug in boot2.s: when booting from floppy, the motor would keep
going for ever.

9 months agofixed bug in physical page allocator init: would mark way much more
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 1 May 2019 23:25:57 +0000 (02:25 +0300)]
fixed bug in physical page allocator init: would mark way much more
memory as used by the allocation bitmap, than necessary.

10 months agofixed: int86 failed to preserve returned flags (backported from 256boss)
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 29 Apr 2019 21:13:05 +0000 (00:13 +0300)]
fixed: int86 failed to preserve returned flags (backported from 256boss)

13 months agoadded makefile rule to create bootable CDs and removed a printf call in
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 23 Jan 2019 02:20:08 +0000 (04:20 +0200)]
added makefile rule to create bootable CDs and removed a printf call in
vbetest which interfered with the video mode by attempting to change the
CRTC scroll registers.

13 months agofixed soundblaster output (DMA bug)
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 23 Jan 2019 01:53:46 +0000 (03:53 +0200)]
fixed soundblaster output (DMA bug)

20 months agoremoved waiting for CTS in serial out and reinstated the serial output by default...
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 9 Jun 2018 11:47:30 +0000 (14:47 +0300)]
removed waiting for CTS in serial out and reinstated the serial output by default. This needs to become an option of some sort.

20 months agothe serial output seems to hang one computer I tried. need to debug later. disabling...
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 03:33:03 +0000 (06:33 +0300)]
the serial output seems to hang one computer I tried. need to debug later. disabling it for now.

20 months agoadded a bit more space after the PCI enumeration to make output more
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 03:25:22 +0000 (06:25 +0300)]
added a bit more space after the PCI enumeration to make output more
readable

21 months agocleaned up the irq/dma detect code
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 23:47:12 +0000 (02:47 +0300)]
cleaned up the irq/dma detect code

21 months agosound blaster code works, plus auto-detect IRQ/DMA where possible
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 23:40:42 +0000 (02:40 +0300)]
sound blaster code works, plus auto-detect IRQ/DMA where possible

21 months agoadding PCM file through LFS this time (hopefully)
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 19:18:54 +0000 (22:18 +0300)]
adding PCM file through LFS this time (hopefully)

21 months agoaccidentally commited a binary file without first enabling LFS...
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 19:17:54 +0000 (22:17 +0300)]
accidentally commited a binary file without first enabling LFS...

21 months agosound blaster code doesn't work yet
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 19:15:14 +0000 (22:15 +0300)]
sound blaster code doesn't work yet

21 months agostarted the sound blaster audio driver
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 24 May 2018 04:29:09 +0000 (07:29 +0300)]
started the sound blaster audio driver

21 months agotried to make ps/2 mouse work in "remote mode" (polling), but it doesn't
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 12 May 2018 01:21:21 +0000 (04:21 +0300)]
tried to make ps/2 mouse work in "remote mode" (polling), but it doesn't
work. For now only interrupt (stream mode) works.
Also added ser_printf

21 months agoadded PS/2 mouse code
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 10 May 2018 00:47:35 +0000 (03:47 +0300)]
added PS/2 mouse code

21 months agopci enumeration
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 7 May 2018 13:15:08 +0000 (16:15 +0300)]
pci enumeration

21 months agoinit_pci
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 6 May 2018 15:04:25 +0000 (18:04 +0300)]
init_pci

21 months agocomments in int86
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 3 May 2018 23:40:59 +0000 (02:40 +0300)]
comments in int86

21 months agoremoved leftover debug prints
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 3 May 2018 23:19:57 +0000 (02:19 +0300)]
removed leftover debug prints

21 months agofixed int86 to return correctly from BIOS calls that internally change
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 3 May 2018 20:37:51 +0000 (23:37 +0300)]
fixed int86 to return correctly from BIOS calls that internally change
to protected mode and back to real mode, undoing our unreal mode hack in
the process.

21 months agofixed VBE bugs
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 3 May 2018 05:56:42 +0000 (08:56 +0300)]
fixed VBE bugs

21 months agovbe mode query
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 2 May 2018 21:28:27 +0000 (00:28 +0300)]
vbe mode query

21 months agofixed int86 not setting segment registers
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 2 May 2018 16:52:51 +0000 (19:52 +0300)]
fixed int86 not setting segment registers

21 months agofoo
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 2 May 2018 10:45:40 +0000 (13:45 +0300)]
foo

21 months agoinitial hasty attempt at porting over my VBE code
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 2 May 2018 03:55:08 +0000 (06:55 +0300)]
initial hasty attempt at porting over my VBE code

22 months agoMerge pull request #1 from cherouvim/patch-1
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 23:11:34 +0000 (02:11 +0300)]
Merge pull request #1 from cherouvim/patch-1

typo in the README file

22 months agoignore memory ranges above 4gb
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 20:58:20 +0000 (23:58 +0300)]
ignore memory ranges above 4gb

22 months agotypo
Ioannis Cherouvim [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 20:34:21 +0000 (23:34 +0300)]
typo

22 months agohandling spurious interrupts correctly
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 16:01:44 +0000 (19:01 +0300)]
handling spurious interrupts correctly

22 months agomalloc (untested)
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 15:26:56 +0000 (18:26 +0300)]
malloc (untested)

22 months agophysical page allocator
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 29 Apr 2018 18:44:41 +0000 (21:44 +0300)]
physical page allocator

22 months agocomments
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 29 Apr 2018 13:24:46 +0000 (16:24 +0300)]
comments

22 months agomemory detection
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 29 Apr 2018 13:13:11 +0000 (16:13 +0300)]
memory detection

22 months agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 29 Apr 2018 05:14:27 +0000 (08:14 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:jtsiomb/pcboot

22 months ago- memory detection with BIOS 0x15/0xe820
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 29 Apr 2018 05:13:05 +0000 (08:13 +0300)]
- memory detection with BIOS 0x15/0xe820
- fixed video text scrolling in contty

22 months agofixed memcpy
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 28 Apr 2018 20:18:04 +0000 (23:18 +0300)]
fixed memcpy

22 months agomoving some standard library functions to assembly
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 28 Apr 2018 19:58:27 +0000 (22:58 +0300)]
moving some standard library functions to assembly

22 months agologohack exit on escape
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 27 Apr 2018 16:46:45 +0000 (19:46 +0300)]
logohack exit on escape

22 months agoint86 seems to work
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 27 Apr 2018 14:15:24 +0000 (17:15 +0300)]
int86 seems to work

22 months agogeneralizing the 16bit interrupt hack to an arbitray int86() call
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 27 Apr 2018 13:56:33 +0000 (16:56 +0300)]
generalizing the 16bit interrupt hack to an arbitray int86() call

22 months agoswitch video mode hack by dropping to real mode to call the video bios works!
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 27 Apr 2018 09:01:03 +0000 (12:01 +0300)]
switch video mode hack by dropping to real mode to call the video bios works!

22 months agoremoved "unimplemented" disclaimer from readme. It's rough but usable now.
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 26 Apr 2018 08:48:10 +0000 (11:48 +0300)]
removed "unimplemented" disclaimer from readme. It's rough but usable now.

22 months agoadded copyright headers to new files
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 26 Apr 2018 08:46:12 +0000 (11:46 +0300)]
added copyright headers to new files

22 months agofixed clear .bss code
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 26 Apr 2018 08:41:46 +0000 (11:41 +0300)]
fixed clear .bss code

22 months agointerrupts, timer, keyboard, segments, lots of kernel code
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 26 Apr 2018 07:52:18 +0000 (10:52 +0300)]
interrupts, timer, keyboard, segments, lots of kernel code

22 months agomain kernel startup, libc, console tty, asmops, build flags fixes
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 25 Apr 2018 14:07:21 +0000 (17:07 +0300)]
main kernel startup, libc, console tty, asmops, build flags fixes

22 months agocommented out debug print of the first 32bits of each track loaded
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 24 Apr 2018 23:44:31 +0000 (02:44 +0300)]
commented out debug print of the first 32bits of each track loaded

22 months agosecond stage boot loader now loads the main program
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 24 Apr 2018 23:42:31 +0000 (02:42 +0300)]
second stage boot loader now loads the main program

22 months agodebugging loading full program in unreal mode
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 24 Apr 2018 15:32:46 +0000 (18:32 +0300)]
debugging loading full program in unreal mode

22 months agoJust in case we started from a floppy, turn the motors off when done
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 21 Apr 2018 01:30:59 +0000 (04:30 +0300)]
Just in case we started from a floppy, turn the motors off when done
loading

22 months agoFixed dobule-faults: the BIOS 13h calls enabled interrupts behind my back
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 19 Apr 2018 04:23:07 +0000 (07:23 +0300)]
Fixed dobule-faults: the BIOS 13h calls enabled interrupts behind my back
Protected mode setup works.

22 months agoprotected mode debugging
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 18 Apr 2018 08:41:18 +0000 (11:41 +0300)]
protected mode debugging

22 months agopointless effect in boot2, just for fun
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 23:42:19 +0000 (02:42 +0300)]
pointless effect in boot2, just for fun

22 months agoprint_num clobbers eax, we need to reload _boot2_size after it returns
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 16:15:37 +0000 (19:15 +0300)]
print_num clobbers eax, we need to reload _boot2_size after it returns

22 months agosemi-colon in copyright header caused a termination of the hash comment(?!)
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 05:02:14 +0000 (08:02 +0300)]
semi-colon in copyright header caused a termination of the hash comment(?!)

22 months agoadded README and license
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 03:17:02 +0000 (06:17 +0300)]
added README and license

22 months agotesting git LFS (large file support), added binary image and palette files
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 02:41:08 +0000 (05:41 +0300)]
testing git LFS (large file support), added binary image and palette files

22 months agofixed USB booting issue
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 15 Apr 2018 02:33:24 +0000 (05:33 +0300)]
fixed USB booting issue

22 months agocleanup and getchs
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 14 Apr 2018 17:33:57 +0000 (20:33 +0300)]
cleanup and getchs

22 months agofixed partial loading bug
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 14 Apr 2018 06:28:47 +0000 (09:28 +0300)]
fixed partial loading bug

22 months agomore debugging
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 11 Apr 2018 15:30:15 +0000 (18:30 +0300)]
more debugging

22 months agoserial debugging in first stage loader
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 10 Apr 2018 04:31:48 +0000 (07:31 +0300)]
serial debugging in first stage loader

22 months agosecond stage loader loading semi-works
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 10 Apr 2018 01:18:43 +0000 (04:18 +0300)]
second stage loader loading semi-works

22 months agoworking on the boot loader
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 9 Apr 2018 01:44:24 +0000 (04:44 +0300)]
working on the boot loader

22 months agohacking the 1st stage loader
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 8 Apr 2018 05:11:47 +0000 (08:11 +0300)]
hacking the 1st stage loader

22 months agoinitial commit
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 7 Apr 2018 04:28:20 +0000 (07:28 +0300)]
initial commit