dosdemo
15 months agofixed the physical to virtual translation issues with DJGPP, watcom just dosrewrite
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 14 Dec 2019 05:51:54 +0000 (07:51 +0200)]
fixed the physical to virtual translation issues with DJGPP, watcom just
doesn't work at the moment, and seems like it hasn't worked for a while
and went unnoticed? ... oh well

15 months agoinfcubes crashes
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 08:47:11 +0000 (10:47 +0200)]
infcubes crashes

16 months agoremoved "trying to match" debug prints
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 11:12:16 +0000 (13:12 +0200)]
removed "trying to match" debug prints

16 months agofixed div/0
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 6 Dec 2019 10:33:19 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
fixed div/0

16 months agoadded missing "modify" declarations in cdpmi.h inline assembly blocks
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 5 Dec 2019 02:03:13 +0000 (04:03 +0200)]
added missing "modify" declarations in cdpmi.h inline assembly blocks

16 months agopass -d2 for proper debug symbols
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 22:58:52 +0000 (00:58 +0200)]
pass -d2 for proper debug symbols

16 months agoaccidentally removed the watcom makefile
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 22:58:20 +0000 (00:58 +0200)]
accidentally removed the watcom makefile

16 months agofoo
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 21:01:12 +0000 (23:01 +0200)]
foo

16 months agothe rewrite branch builds, not tested yet
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 11:19:51 +0000 (13:19 +0200)]
the rewrite branch builds, not tested yet

16 months agoadding the previous gfx.h file, will re-write the code
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 15:43:53 +0000 (17:43 +0200)]
adding the previous gfx.h file, will re-write the code

16 months agomore vbe
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 15 Nov 2019 02:57:54 +0000 (04:57 +0200)]
more vbe

16 months agosetmode, crtc, list of standard modes
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 14 Nov 2019 11:15:58 +0000 (13:15 +0200)]
setmode, crtc, list of standard modes

16 months agomore vbe
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 14 Nov 2019 02:00:03 +0000 (04:00 +0200)]
more vbe

16 months agostart writing new VBE routines
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 11:09:31 +0000 (13:09 +0200)]
start writing new VBE routines

16 months agodos backend partial rewrite starting with DPMI
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:58:39 +0000 (02:58 +0200)]
dos backend partial rewrite starting with DPMI

19 months agobackported g3d changes:
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 4 Sep 2019 12:00:18 +0000 (15:00 +0300)]
backported g3d changes:
 - rasterizer selection controled by enable bits
 - polygon blending
 - g3d_pixel typedef (uint16_t here)

19 months agofoo
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 4 Sep 2019 09:38:01 +0000 (12:38 +0300)]
foo

2 years agowtf did I write there?
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 22:06:06 +0000 (00:06 +0200)]
wtf did I write there?

2 years agofixed all the makefiles to build with the new libanim
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 10 Dec 2018 17:51:42 +0000 (19:51 +0200)]
fixed all the makefiles to build with the new libanim

2 years agoadded libanim, and moved gph-cmath into libs/cgmath
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 10 Dec 2018 17:42:58 +0000 (19:42 +0200)]
added libanim, and moved gph-cmath into libs/cgmath

2 years ago- fixed watcom build
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 4 Dec 2018 04:36:23 +0000 (06:36 +0200)]
- fixed watcom build
- added gph-cmath C math library
- dropping oldmik, don't bother with music for watcom builds. final
  build will be djgpp anyway.

2 years agoadded treestore and started a bit on the tilesets for the maze parts
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 4 Dec 2018 03:51:07 +0000 (05:51 +0200)]
added treestore and started a bit on the tilesets for the maze parts

2 years agotheoretically added texture matrices. untested.
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 1 Dec 2018 05:54:15 +0000 (07:54 +0200)]
theoretically added texture matrices. untested.

2 years agofixed bug introduced by the last bugfix
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 15 Sep 2018 17:15:17 +0000 (20:15 +0300)]
fixed bug introduced by the last bugfix

2 years agofixed overdlow when calculating winding of large polygons in the
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 15 Sep 2018 16:32:52 +0000 (19:32 +0300)]
fixed overdlow when calculating winding of large polygons in the
rasterizert

2 years agofixed hairball update and drawing
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 12 Sep 2018 16:34:01 +0000 (19:34 +0300)]
fixed hairball update and drawing

2 years agoadded spaceball on linux
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 11 Sep 2018 18:07:17 +0000 (21:07 +0300)]
added spaceball on linux

2 years agoframerate limiter in hairball
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 10 Sep 2018 16:18:35 +0000 (19:18 +0300)]
framerate limiter in hairball

2 years agohairball screen
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 10 Sep 2018 15:44:12 +0000 (18:44 +0300)]
hairball screen

2 years agobackported fixes from rtxon
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 8 Sep 2018 03:40:38 +0000 (06:40 +0300)]
backported fixes from rtxon

2 years agobackported from rtxon: check_clip_poly (needed for new BSP code)
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 30 Aug 2018 06:04:46 +0000 (09:04 +0300)]
backported from rtxon: check_clip_poly (needed for new BSP code)
also commented out the BSP drawing in polytest for now.

2 years agobackported fixes from rtxon: BSP tree construction and mouse handling
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 30 Aug 2018 06:01:30 +0000 (09:01 +0300)]
backported fixes from rtxon: BSP tree construction and mouse handling

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 25 Aug 2018 04:51:11 +0000 (07:51 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo

2 years agofixed bug in meshload. it would always expect it's loading obj files with quads.
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 25 Aug 2018 04:49:57 +0000 (07:49 +0300)]
fixed bug in meshload. it would always expect it's loading obj files with quads.

3 years agostarting tile-maze
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 25 Mar 2018 22:08:06 +0000 (01:08 +0300)]
starting tile-maze

3 years agoseparated the smoke-text effect to reuse it in multiple parts if
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 25 Mar 2018 19:02:45 +0000 (22:02 +0300)]
separated the smoke-text effect to reuse it in multiple parts if
necessary

3 years agoneed reorganization
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 22 Mar 2018 22:35:45 +0000 (00:35 +0200)]
need reorganization

3 years agomore pipes
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 22 Mar 2018 18:25:19 +0000 (20:25 +0200)]
more pipes

3 years agoprocedural generator for the steam tunnels part
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 22 Mar 2018 16:18:20 +0000 (18:18 +0200)]
procedural generator for the steam tunnels part

3 years agoswitching polytest between zsorting and BSP for performance testing
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 21 Feb 2018 04:01:17 +0000 (06:01 +0200)]
switching polytest between zsorting and BSP for performance testing
with 'b'

3 years agofixed warnings
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 22:41:22 +0000 (00:41 +0200)]
fixed warnings

3 years agosimplified clip_poly and clip_frustum slightly
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 18:26:07 +0000 (20:26 +0200)]
simplified clip_poly and clip_frustum slightly

3 years agoforgot to implement mouse calls for djgpp. moved it to mouse.asm
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 10:06:32 +0000 (12:06 +0200)]
forgot to implement mouse calls for djgpp. moved it to mouse.asm

3 years agomajor bsp bugs fixed
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 08:01:12 +0000 (10:01 +0200)]
major bsp bugs fixed

3 years agoI need to go deeper bsp
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 02:29:26 +0000 (04:29 +0200)]
I need to go deeper

3 years agoadded OpenGL debug/test program
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 19 Feb 2018 01:33:35 +0000 (03:33 +0200)]
added OpenGL debug/test program

3 years agodebugging the BSP
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 18 Feb 2018 20:03:44 +0000 (22:03 +0200)]
debugging the BSP

3 years agobsp construction doesn't crash any more
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 18 Feb 2018 19:18:48 +0000 (21:18 +0200)]
bsp construction doesn't crash any more

3 years agoBSP construction debugging
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 18 Feb 2018 16:54:25 +0000 (18:54 +0200)]
BSP construction debugging

3 years agostarted BSP tree
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 18 Feb 2018 06:59:33 +0000 (08:59 +0200)]
started BSP tree

3 years agoadded specular offset parameters in gen_phong_tex
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 16:55:18 +0000 (18:55 +0200)]
added specular offset parameters in gen_phong_tex

3 years agoenvmap, fake phong texture generation, and more
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 08:08:42 +0000 (10:08 +0200)]
envmap, fake phong texture generation, and more

3 years agowriting obj loader
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 01:13:07 +0000 (03:13 +0200)]
writing obj loader

3 years agoremoved redundant immediate mode draw_cube from infcubes
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 15 Feb 2018 05:02:47 +0000 (07:02 +0200)]
removed redundant immediate mode draw_cube from infcubes

3 years ago- moved image rgb24->rgb16 conversion to gfxutil
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 15 Feb 2018 05:01:36 +0000 (07:01 +0200)]
- moved image rgb24->rgb16 conversion to gfxutil
- ugly infcubes textures

3 years ago- added mesh operations: apply_mesh_xform, append_mesh, indexify_mesh (untested)...
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 15 Feb 2018 04:30:14 +0000 (06:30 +0200)]
- added mesh operations: apply_mesh_xform, append_mesh, indexify_mesh (untested), gen_plane_mesh, gen_cube_mesh.

3 years ago- separated mesh algorithms in mesh.h/mesh.c
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 14 Feb 2018 05:35:58 +0000 (07:35 +0200)]
- separated mesh algorithms in mesh.h/mesh.c
- fixed backface culling precision issue
- fixed leftover old prototypes for g3d_color* functions
- added debug breakpoint in util and made the demo break when pressing
  delete.
- fugly textured cube in infcubes part

3 years agostarting infcubes part
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 13 Feb 2018 18:47:25 +0000 (20:47 +0200)]
starting infcubes part

3 years ago- added immediate mode drawing in 3dgfx
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 13 Feb 2018 18:43:02 +0000 (20:43 +0200)]
- added immediate mode drawing in 3dgfx
- changed fullscreen toggle in SDL backend to alt-enter

3 years ago- added optimization notes in readme
John Tsiombikas [Mon, 12 Feb 2018 04:54:39 +0000 (06:54 +0200)]
- added optimization notes in readme
- added cpuid instruction for serializing/flushing cpu state before
  taking rdtsc measurements
- moved perf variables to util.c to silence watcom warnings

3 years agoadded perf_start/perf_end assembly macros
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 11 Feb 2018 08:05:49 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
added perf_start/perf_end assembly macros

3 years agoattempt to use new mikmod for djgpp build
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 10 Feb 2018 19:56:45 +0000 (21:56 +0200)]
attempt to use new mikmod for djgpp build

3 years ago- added rules for building asm code in the gcc makefiles
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 10 Feb 2018 19:10:26 +0000 (21:10 +0200)]
- added rules for building asm code in the gcc makefiles
- fixed missing parenthesis in PACK_RGB16

3 years ago- added blur in gfxutil
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 10 Feb 2018 12:04:24 +0000 (14:04 +0200)]
- added blur in gfxutil
- fixed 3dgfx to use the framebuffer set by g3d_framebuffer
- trying a variant of the greets effect with a frame by frame blur

3 years agoadding fast blur function
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 9 Feb 2018 01:03:47 +0000 (03:03 +0200)]
adding fast blur function

3 years agochanged the DJGPP makefiles to use different suffixes for intermediate
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 8 Feb 2018 07:46:37 +0000 (09:46 +0200)]
changed the DJGPP makefiles to use different suffixes for intermediate
build files (.cof instead of .o, .dep instead of .d, and .dja instead of
.a), to make it possible to build both the linux and the dos version in
the same directory without conflict.

3 years agofixed point drawing in 3dgfx and added new greets screen
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 8 Feb 2018 07:16:00 +0000 (09:16 +0200)]
fixed point drawing in 3dgfx and added new greets screen

3 years agofixed mistake in the DJGPP version of dpmi_alloc
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 6 Feb 2018 22:56:32 +0000 (00:56 +0200)]
fixed mistake in the DJGPP version of dpmi_alloc

3 years ago- instructed gcc to emit only pentium1 instructions
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 6 Feb 2018 21:47:34 +0000 (23:47 +0200)]
- instructed gcc to emit only pentium1 instructions
- moved wait_vsync into an assembly macro in gfx.h

3 years agoforgot to undef the debugging NOKEYB macro
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 6 Feb 2018 18:47:24 +0000 (20:47 +0200)]
forgot to undef the debugging NOKEYB macro

3 years agobuilds with djgpp but crashes
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 6 Feb 2018 03:42:44 +0000 (05:42 +0200)]
builds with djgpp but crashes

3 years agoadding polyclip.obj to the watcom makefile
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 4 Feb 2018 18:48:46 +0000 (20:48 +0200)]
adding polyclip.obj to the watcom makefile

3 years agoclipping bugs...
John Tsiombikas [Sat, 3 Feb 2018 22:44:45 +0000 (00:44 +0200)]
clipping bugs...

3 years ago- clipper debugging
John Tsiombikas [Fri, 2 Feb 2018 12:00:35 +0000 (14:00 +0200)]
- clipper debugging
- fixed branches based on uninitialized variables in polyfiller
- added g3d_viewport function

3 years agooptimized the metaballs slightly 3fps -> 5fps and fixed the zsorting bug
John Tsiombikas [Thu, 1 Feb 2018 01:01:22 +0000 (03:01 +0200)]
optimized the metaballs slightly 3fps -> 5fps and fixed the zsorting bug

4 years agoStill not what I wanted to achieve, just wanted to test how the whities look when...
Michael Kargas [Thu, 20 Oct 2016 18:53:19 +0000 (19:53 +0100)]
Still not what I wanted to achieve, just wanted to test how the whities look when they are gathered together.

4 years agoupdated vs project
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 21:32:05 +0000 (00:32 +0300)]
updated vs project

4 years agoupdated the dos makefile
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 21:26:08 +0000 (00:26 +0300)]
updated the dos makefile

4 years agometaballs
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 21:16:53 +0000 (00:16 +0300)]
metaballs

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 20:56:47 +0000 (23:56 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo

4 years agoadded serial spaceball support in the dos version. can be used for
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 17:15:53 +0000 (20:15 +0300)]
added serial spaceball support in the dos version. can be used for
debugging or even animation recording for 3D objects.

4 years agometaballs effect
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 01:57:36 +0000 (04:57 +0300)]
metaballs effect

4 years agomoving the vertices with a sine
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Mon, 17 Oct 2016 10:53:54 +0000 (13:53 +0300)]
moving the vertices with a sine

4 years agoFog and sorting
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sun, 16 Oct 2016 23:26:16 +0000 (02:26 +0300)]
Fog and sorting

4 years agoMany thunders from origin to random points on a rotating sphere
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sun, 16 Oct 2016 20:43:56 +0000 (23:43 +0300)]
Many thunders from origin to random points on a rotating sphere

4 years agoOh no
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sun, 16 Oct 2016 13:20:28 +0000 (16:20 +0300)]
Oh no

4 years agoRender thunder recursively
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sun, 16 Oct 2016 13:12:16 +0000 (16:12 +0300)]
Render thunder recursively

4 years agoThunder... thunder... THUNDER SCREEN! HOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sat, 15 Oct 2016 23:13:45 +0000 (02:13 +0300)]
Thunder... thunder... THUNDER SCREEN! HOOOOOOOOOOOOO

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of mutantstargoat.com:/home/nuclear/git/dosdemo
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Sat, 15 Oct 2016 21:44:43 +0000 (00:44 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of mutantstargoat.com:/home/nuclear/git/dosdemo

4 years agoremoved the empty stop function from grise.c (I feel like I did that
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 12:29:49 +0000 (15:29 +0300)]
removed the empty stop function from grise.c (I feel like I did that
before)

4 years agoNot exactly what I want to achieve here, just keeping this code now. The smaller...
Michael Kargas [Mon, 10 Oct 2016 21:25:51 +0000 (22:25 +0100)]
Not exactly what I want to achieve here, just keeping this code now. The smaller the particles the more fuzzy or I have to dump down the offsetPower variable.

4 years agoadded polygon clipper, not using it yet
John Tsiombikas [Sun, 9 Oct 2016 06:29:21 +0000 (09:29 +0300)]
added polygon clipper, not using it yet

4 years agogitignore VS project user settings
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Wed, 5 Oct 2016 16:13:10 +0000 (19:13 +0300)]
gitignore VS project user settings

4 years agoremoved drawFps from grise as it's now part of the main demo code
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 5 Oct 2016 01:27:58 +0000 (04:27 +0300)]
removed drawFps from grise as it's now part of the main demo code

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 5 Oct 2016 01:20:29 +0000 (04:20 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of goat:git/dosdemo

4 years agomoved the drawFps call to the backends so it works automatically for
John Tsiombikas [Wed, 5 Oct 2016 01:19:46 +0000 (04:19 +0300)]
moved the drawFps call to the backends so it works automatically for
any part

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of mutantstargoat.com:/home/nuclear/git/dosdemo
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Tue, 4 Oct 2016 23:40:47 +0000 (02:40 +0300)]
Merge branch 'master' of mutantstargoat.com:/home/nuclear/git/dosdemo

4 years agoRemoved division in displacement inner loop
Michael Georgoulopoulos [Tue, 4 Oct 2016 23:40:34 +0000 (02:40 +0300)]
Removed division in displacement inner loop
Stole Optimus' FPS counter as an extern

4 years agoSDL backend set the mouse button bitmask incorrectly
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 4 Oct 2016 23:08:17 +0000 (02:08 +0300)]
SDL backend set the mouse button bitmask incorrectly

4 years agoremoved empty stop functions from bump and plasma to avoid delaying the
John Tsiombikas [Tue, 4 Oct 2016 16:10:00 +0000 (19:10 +0300)]
removed empty stop functions from bump and plasma to avoid delaying the
transitions